Skip to main content

2017 Savanna Comics Choice Awards Nominees

The Savanna Comics’ Choice Awards (Savanna CCAs) announced its nominees in the 11 award categories. Comedians, media, and industry were the first to hear the names called out at a press lunch held on Wednesday, 12 July at Katzy’s in Rosebank. The main awards evening will take place on Saturday, 9 September at the Lyric Theatre at Gold Reef City.

Comedians vote for their fellow comedians, determining who will be nominated and then go on to receive a Waldo (the Savanna CCA’s statuette).

The nominees are:

Breakthrough Award

    * Skhumba Hlophe;
    * Alfred Adriaan;
    * Loyiso Gola;
    * Robby Collins; and
    * Tumi Morake.

Savanna Newcomer of the Year

    * Thabiso Mhlongo;
    * Tsitsi Chiumya;
    * Bongani Dube;
    * Eric Jansen; and
    * Summary.

Intermediate Award

    * Ebenhaezer Dibakwane;
    * Virgil Prins;
    * Glen Biderman-Pam;
    * Noko Moswete; and
    * Mo Mothebe.

Non-English Comic Award

    * Salesman;
    * Skhumba Hlophe;
    * Celeste Ntuli;
    * Mashabela Galane; and
    * Thapelo King Flat Mametja.

Flying Solo Award

    * Skhumba Hlophe;
    * Carvin H Goldstone;
    * Celeste Ntuli;
    * Loyiso Gola; and
    * Mashabela Galane.

Comics’ Pen Award

    * Mojak Lehoko;
    * Trevor Noah;
    * Muzi Dlamini;
    * Lazola Gola; and
    * Karabo Lediga.

The Nando's Best Friend of Comedy

    * Goliath & Goliath;
    * David Kau – Blacks Only;
    * Carvin H Goldstone;
    * On Fire Comedy; and
    * Armchair – Gino Fernandez.

Savanna Comic of the Year

    * Skhumba Hlophe;
    * Loyiso Gola;
    * Carvin H Goldstone;
    * Celeste Ntuli; and
    * Kagiso KG Mokgadi.

The nominees in this category are:

Patrick Idringi (Salvado) from Uganda
Bright Okpocha (Basketmouth) from Nigeria
Carl Joshua Ncube from Zimbabwe
Tshepo “Masapo” Mpiti from Lesotho
Fernando Filipe from Angola.

The Audience Choice Award nominees are:

Elton Mduduzi Ntuli
Pelepele Mchunu
Thapelo Maila
Luphelo Kodwa

The Lifetime Achiever award is made to an act with 20 years or more experience in comedy. The Savanna CCAs has announced that Cyril Green is the Lifetime Achiever recipient.

Green is an entertainer and producer in South Africa, having performed in over 150 television shows, including hosting his own TV series The Cyril Green Show.

He is also a jazz pianist, leading his own bands and having produced variety shows for 20 years, as well as hundreds of live stage appearances as a stand-up comedian, and recently an author.

Participants can book their tickets for the Lifetime Achiever Grilling of a Lifetime on Wednesday, 16 August at Parker’s Comedy Club, where Cyril will be roasted by his fellow comedians. This is a unique format that makes for a limited experience for comedy fans.

Popular posts from this blog

New Music: Download Takura 'Relationship Goals' EP

It might be the end of the year but it's never too late for Relationship Goals...

Afierce a year of successful singles, Takura releases his latest project 'Relationship Goals' EP. Dubbed #RGEP, the five track record was produced by Anashe Media Group's Young Nash.

The tracks are love tracks telling different stories. The #RGEP is a follow up to his debut project, 2016's 'Stripped' EP.

Get your copy for you and yours by downloading it here.

Watch: Few Kings '15 Billion' Music Video.

Where is the '15 Billion'?

It's King Ngoda'so birthday and for his fans he has a present.

As a follow up to 'The Remedy', Few Kings release a new music video for '15 Billion'. The track is off the trio's The Feeling Ain't Fair 2.

Following the social commentary path, 15 Billion protests against unfair treatment of workers. Taking a subliminal route Tehn, Breezy and Fizzo use the music industry as the metaphor, as well as the reality on the ground.

According to the description,  "15 Billion" brings us #TheFew reading the riot act to shady promoters. Demanding it's time we all got paid in full for what we're worth. We want our 15 Billion, the whole thing or nothing at all. This is Zim Hip-Hop at it's finest."

The music video was directed by Studio Art Pictures. The video starts off in animation with the artists names appearing on screen. Each of them are introduced as kings.

Tehn is having a photo shoot, Jnr Brown is …

HiPipo Music Awards Nominees 2018

The nominees for the 6th prestigious HiPipo Music Awards have been released by Innocent Kawooya, the CEO of HiPipo who said that the awards are a strong and noble contribution to a vibrant and growing music industry by celebrating great pieces of work while at the same time bringing positive critic to art.

The ceremony is scheduled for 17th March 2018 still at Kampala Serena Hotel.

Below is a full list of 2018 Hipipo Award Nominees: AfricaAfrica Song of the YearAlikiba – Seduce MeC4 Pedro Ft Sauti Sol – Love AgainCassper Nyovest – Tito MboweniDarassa Ft. Ben Pol – MuzikiDavido – IFDiamond Platnumz Ft. Ne-Yo – Marry YouEddy Kenzo – JubilationJah Prayzah Ft. Mafikizolo – SendekeraMajor Lazer & DJ Maphorisa – Particula (ft. Nasty C, Ice Prince, Patoranking & Jidenna)Roberto – Into YouRuntown – Mad Over YouSheebah – John RamboWizkid – Come Closer Ft. DrakeAfrica Video of the YearAKA – Caiphus SongDavido – FallDiamond Platnumz Ft. Morgan Heritage – HallelujahFlavour – Baby Na YokaMa…