Skip to main content

Marcques Debuts 'ALYVE' Album And Sounds Different

In the second half of what has been a prolific year for the top tier artists in the Zimbabwean hip hop community, we have just received a long awaited project from the talented artist Marcques, that promises to be a career defining moment for the rapper. After the drums of his hit song, 'Zunguza', sent shock waves and left ripple effects in the industry in 2013, there was a lot of speculation regarding when we would receive a full length project offering to keep the momentum riding high for the promising young star. Now, a few album title changes, radio hits and collaborative projects later, we finally have something to listen to entitled ALYVE.

This marks his first solo album and already has generated a few years worth of anticipation and excitement. March of this year, he returned as part of the new musical super group, VERYUS, with his first single of the year "Type YaMudhara", a bass driven, club friendly ode to independent women he seemingly has an affinity for. It's a sound that the rap star has been renowned for over the years, but he promises that this new body of work will help his artistry transcend beyond the expectations as he strives to dip his hands into a different pot of sounds and sonically expand his horizons. With a modern day virtuoso such as Verseless helming production, we are sure to hear something that takes us by surprise, but never at the expense of quality. The results of their discreet working relationship has apparently helped them coin a title for their new product, "AFRO-RAP'.

The title ALYVE is apparently an acronym for "Always Love Your Very Existence" Potentially  new creed he lives by that could be applied in the conceptualization of his new material. The album boasts a number of 14 tracks that should certainly hold his listeners over, and wipe the memory of his absence clear from their minds as he reclaims his position as one of the most revered acts we have in music.

If you want to get a copy of the album, simply ECOCASH $5 to +263 777 205 639, send a screenshot of your confirmation message to the same number and the album will be sent directly to you via email or Whatsapp.     

Popular posts from this blog

New Music: Download Takura 'Relationship Goals' EP

It might be the end of the year but it's never too late for Relationship Goals...

Afierce a year of successful singles, Takura releases his latest project 'Relationship Goals' EP. Dubbed #RGEP, the five track record was produced by Anashe Media Group's Young Nash.

The tracks are love tracks telling different stories. The #RGEP is a follow up to his debut project, 2016's 'Stripped' EP.

Get your copy for you and yours by downloading it here.

Watch: Few Kings '15 Billion' Music Video.

Where is the '15 Billion'?

It's King Ngoda'so birthday and for his fans he has a present.

As a follow up to 'The Remedy', Few Kings release a new music video for '15 Billion'. The track is off the trio's The Feeling Ain't Fair 2.

Following the social commentary path, 15 Billion protests against unfair treatment of workers. Taking a subliminal route Tehn, Breezy and Fizzo use the music industry as the metaphor, as well as the reality on the ground.

According to the description,  "15 Billion" brings us #TheFew reading the riot act to shady promoters. Demanding it's time we all got paid in full for what we're worth. We want our 15 Billion, the whole thing or nothing at all. This is Zim Hip-Hop at it's finest."

The music video was directed by Studio Art Pictures. The video starts off in animation with the artists names appearing on screen. Each of them are introduced as kings.

Tehn is having a photo shoot, Jnr Brown is …

HiPipo Music Awards Nominees 2018

The nominees for the 6th prestigious HiPipo Music Awards have been released by Innocent Kawooya, the CEO of HiPipo who said that the awards are a strong and noble contribution to a vibrant and growing music industry by celebrating great pieces of work while at the same time bringing positive critic to art.

The ceremony is scheduled for 17th March 2018 still at Kampala Serena Hotel.

Below is a full list of 2018 Hipipo Award Nominees: AfricaAfrica Song of the YearAlikiba – Seduce MeC4 Pedro Ft Sauti Sol – Love AgainCassper Nyovest – Tito MboweniDarassa Ft. Ben Pol – MuzikiDavido – IFDiamond Platnumz Ft. Ne-Yo – Marry YouEddy Kenzo – JubilationJah Prayzah Ft. Mafikizolo – SendekeraMajor Lazer & DJ Maphorisa – Particula (ft. Nasty C, Ice Prince, Patoranking & Jidenna)Roberto – Into YouRuntown – Mad Over YouSheebah – John RamboWizkid – Come Closer Ft. DrakeAfrica Video of the YearAKA – Caiphus SongDavido – FallDiamond Platnumz Ft. Morgan Heritage – HallelujahFlavour – Baby Na YokaMa…