Skip to main content


Showing posts from December, 2017

Groove Deck Top 10 Albums of 2017

By Elspeth Chimedza 
For any music journalist, or critical,  coming up with the best albums list can be trying. Never will a list follow the line of fans taste. These lists are often compiled according to sales, chart performances, as well as the nitty gritty such as lyrical content, production and overall sound. While we still awaiting for infrastructure for metrics for music in Zimbabwe, a musical ear is inexpensive. 2017 proved to be an impressive year in Zimbabwean music. Most of the credit can be awarded to the creative beat makers and producers. From January to year end musicians from different genres have released projects. We saw several anticipated debut albums come from Fungai Nengare, Mile, Ammara Brown and Marques. Others made follow ups and all we can say, 2017 was a great year in Zimbabwean music. Check out 2017's top albums, in that order.

1. Mile - Trading Hours
While Mile may continue to be undermined by Zimbabwean mainstream, the young man put together an impress…

HiPipo Music Awards Nominees 2018

The nominees for the 6th prestigious HiPipo Music Awards have been released by Innocent Kawooya, the CEO of HiPipo who said that the awards are a strong and noble contribution to a vibrant and growing music industry by celebrating great pieces of work while at the same time bringing positive critic to art.

The ceremony is scheduled for 17th March 2018 still at Kampala Serena Hotel.

Below is a full list of 2018 Hipipo Award Nominees: AfricaAfrica Song of the YearAlikiba – Seduce MeC4 Pedro Ft Sauti Sol – Love AgainCassper Nyovest – Tito MboweniDarassa Ft. Ben Pol – MuzikiDavido – IFDiamond Platnumz Ft. Ne-Yo – Marry YouEddy Kenzo – JubilationJah Prayzah Ft. Mafikizolo – SendekeraMajor Lazer & DJ Maphorisa – Particula (ft. Nasty C, Ice Prince, Patoranking & Jidenna)Roberto – Into YouRuntown – Mad Over YouSheebah – John RamboWizkid – Come Closer Ft. DrakeAfrica Video of the YearAKA – Caiphus SongDavido – FallDiamond Platnumz Ft. Morgan Heritage – HallelujahFlavour – Baby Na YokaMa…

2017 Zimdancehall Awards Winners

The 2017 Zimdancehall Awards were held on Thursday 28 December.

Most of the awards' categories had ties.

Here are the winners:

King of Zimdancehall 2017 Souljah luv

Queen of Zimdancehall 2017 Kadija

Best graphic designer Mugo Mix and Kello

Best zimdancehall video Winky D and Buffalo Souljah- Hupenyu & Seh Calaz- Mangongongo.

Best Zimdancehall artist outside Harare Legion and Markman.

Best Producer outside Harare Rox and Gfreshy.

Best Zimdancehall Medley T Man Mount Zion.

Most disciplined Hwindi President and Kinnah.

Best live performer male Seh Calaz and Kinnah.

Best live performer female Empress Massina.

Best promoter outside Zimbabwe Cheesebuoy Entettainment and Don Carlo Digital 1.

Best dance group Ghetto clark zone

Best zimdancehall clan HKD

Best riddim Marlon T threat of the year and Unoripa Chillspot records.

Song of the year Pamamonya ipapo Jah luv.

Best zimdancehall collaboration Killer T and Ex Q- Nhema and Boom Betto and Jah Signal-Mairevei

Best album Freeman Top st…

New Music: Tinashe Makura 'Kura Uone'

Produced by Anton Morgan and Oliver Stutz

"I've always wanted to write a song about the struggles and successes that I've witnessed through my life's journey from childhood to adulthood. One of those hard lessons was losing my father but still finding the strength to get back up and live my best life. He was my biggest fan."

Check out Tinashe share growing pains in the track below:

Grammy Awards 2018 Nominees

Jay-Z is this year's leading GRAMMY nominee with eight nominations...

The 60th Annual Grammy Awards ceremony will be held on January 28, 2018. The CBS network will broadcast the show live from the Madison Square Garden in New York City. James Corden will return as host.

Jay-Z is up for eight awards: Album of the Year, Record of the Year, Song of the Year, Best Rap Performance, Best Rap/Sung Performance, Best Rap Song, Best Rap Album and Best Music Video.

Kendrick Lamar and Bruno Mars have seven and six nominations, respectively. Childish Gambino, Khalid, No I.D. and SZA all have five each. SZA is this year's top female nominee with five nominations, including Best New Artist.

Nominees list adapted from the Recording Academy's website. GeneralRecord of the Year"Redbone" – Childish GambinoDonald Glover & Ludwig Goransson, producer; Donald Glover, Ludwig Goransson, Riley Mackin & Ruben Rivera, engineers/mixers; Bernie Grundman, mastering engineer"Despacit…